Kyudo Notebook: Exhale

Yesterday I finally got to ask one of the 7-dan kyoshi teachers about the breathing question, whether we should be inhaling or exhaling during movements like hikiwake. She recommended exhaling, which probably means exhaling from uchiokoshi to daisan, then inhaling, then exhaling again from daisan to kai, however she also said that, really, you should do it in the way that is most natural for you. So I’m going to experiment.

We have tons of new students this year, spanning the whole range from junior high school to older adults. They tell me that next year they may pull me into some of the teaching, so I’m trying to pay attention to how they do it. You look at someone just starting and there are so many things not quite right, but which ones are most important? How do you decided what to work on first? What order? I remember one time a while back, when I asked one teacher what was wrong with the way I was shooting. She said, “Everything.” Ha! But she still had me work on just one thing at a time.

This entry was posted in kyudo, kyudo notebook. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kyudo Notebook: Exhale

  1. Zen says:

    I tell beginning students to Taiji that the most important thing about breathing is to do so. Your body will find it’ s timing as you get more comfortable with the moments.Otherwise they spend too much effort on trying to breathe “right” and lose the technical part they need to be working on.
    Later any advise on breath will be better absorbed.

    As far as what to correct, generally it is the largest error, or something to do with the roots or what the student can handle. Eg: I had a senior student assit a couple of new students. She gave them way too much. I took away half of the lesson, because if they could “get” what I gave them the rest would be easier and they would not be frustrated, as much.

    • karamatsu says:

      Thanks, that’s very useful. I’ll try to pay more attention to the new students and just see what I would suggest versus what the teachers home in on. If anything. Sometimes they’ll just leave a student to struggle for a while.

  2. David says:

    To consistently breathing naturally can be quite difficult.

    Working on one thing at a time is very important. You have a good teacher.

    I found your blog through facebook. Very nice writing. Please continue!

Leave a Reply

