Kyudo Notebook: Correction

Small correction to the post from the tutorial. In yugamae I had a note that, once completed, the bow should be positioned so that someone sitting in front of you could see your face between the bow and the bowstring. Looking at a recording of that part of the tutorial, I think that position was to be adopted at dozukuri. One of the first things you do to begin the yugamae phase is shift to bow slightly to the right, so that position probably wouldn’t be correct any more.

Also the teacher himself made a point of saying that what he was explaining wasn’t necessarily the right way. It’s just his way, with the implication that it is one among many.

Meanwhile I’ve had pretty good results applying some of these ideas, but their application is far from stable, and as usual, everything affects everything. But next weekend we have our last taikai of the year. It will be interesting to see how that goes. Then I have to get serious.

This entry was posted in dozukuri, kyudo notebook, yugamae. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kyudo Notebook: Correction

  1. Zen says:

    I thought you were already serious (^_^)

  2. karamatsu says:

    Ha! Well, maybe “more” serious. Winter is a good season for that here because it’s hard to travel, so there aren’t many taikai, and so less temptation to shoot competitively. But really I think that comment came up because one of my relatives is seriously ill and so I’ve been thinking about what I’m doing with my life, and what I should do. I figure I need to be more focused on the things that really matter.

    It sounds like you’re thinking the same way, eh?

  3. Zen says:

    Hmmm, yeah, but I’m old. (^_^)

Leave a Reply

