Kyudo Notebook: Lines

I realized at practice this evening that part of my problem lately has been the most basic of things. I haven’t been standing with my toes on a straight line to the target, but rather somewhat behind. The main reason for this is that we’re shooting through windows now,

Shajo Window

Shajo Window

as we will all winter, so I have to stand back a little bit for the arrows to clear. But beyond that, various other problems have re-appeared and will need to be worked through.

This entry was posted in ashibumi, kyudo, kyudo notebook. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kyudo Notebook: Lines

  1. Willem says:

    I have the same problem but I think shooting thru the window highlights my dirty release . if the arrow fishtails even a little bit it hits the curtain on the way out so I adjust to give myself more room .

  2. karamatsu says:

    You have a good point there. I guess the windows are telling us something! One thing this told me last year is that my arrows were too flexible. Upgrading to an 8023 carbon shafts really helped to stabilize things, both with and without the window.

    Anyway now that I think about your comment it seems to me that this could be a blessing in disguise. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

