Kyudo Notebook: Kyoto

Pagoda at Tōji

Tōji

It’s still a bit early, but it looks like I’ll go to the Kyoto taikai this year along with several others from our dojo. Time to watch good people, poke around in shops, and explore. When I lived in Tokyo I used to go there often; it was an easy trip. But that was long ago and I’m looking forward to visiting favourite places from my past. If anyone reading this is going and wants to catch up, let me know!

This entry was posted in kyudo, kyudo notebook. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kyudo Notebook: Kyoto

  1. Tom says:

    Hello from Norway.
    You’re a lucky guy, living near the source.

    • karamatsu says:

      Thanks! I wish I had found this connection earlier, but that’s life. Or at least my life. But you know it seems like more and more events are popping up all over the place, and the next “world cup” taikai wil be in France. From here, all the countries in Europe seem very close together, but I guess that’s still a long trip?

  2. Tom says:

    The countries are close in Europe, if you take a plane. From Norway to Paris in France will take 3 ours whit plane, and 19 hours if a car is used for the trip.
    A airplane trip to Tokyo last april took 10 hour, where I had the pleasure participated in the 2010 International seminar. The taikai I lost due to volcanic ash from Iceland who drifted into Europe and put all traffic out of operation for a long time.

  3. karamatsu says:

    Ah, I heard about that, the volcanic ash. Sometimes the volcanoes blow up around here, too, though I don’t recall ever having to change travel plans because of it. Snow, on the other hand, seems to get me every year. Maybe we’ll run into each other at one of these events sometime down the road, weather and volcanoes permitting!

Leave a Reply

