Kyudo Notebook: Unsettled

Rain, rain, heat, heat, rain, rain. You’d think this was Honshu. My shooting has been kind of unsettled. Yesterday S先生 was watching and suggested that I had a tenouchi problem, specifically not enough strength in the middle finger of my left hand. Paying attention at kai, I realized that this was so and tried to strengthen that, but I think I did it the wrong way, and what I may need to do is combine that with that slight contraction of the left hand as the base of the thumb and the base of the little finger are squeezed together. I’d been letting that slide, I think, as K先生 wanted me to focus on release from the centre rather than what my hands/arms were doing. So… a lot of things up in the air.

This isn’t the best state to be in going into a taikai (tomorrow), but that will add to the mental practice. Normally it wouldn’t be a big deal but this is a team thing, so I don’t want to let the others down. Which is also practice. No end…

This entry was posted in kyudo, kyudo notebook, tenouchi. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

