Quotes

With the previous post I’m starting something new. I’ve been doing a lot of reading lately, focused on people who I find inspirational because I find that a lot of the people I run into these days are spending much of their lives merely getting by. It’s as though the highest goal of life has become to be comfortable until you die. Since I feel that way myself sometimes (often after reading the news!) I’ve decided to surround myself with words and deeds by the likes of

  • Mahatma Gandhi
  • Dalai Lama XIV
  • Samdhong Rinpoche
  • Martin Luther King
  • Malcolm X
  • Nelson Mandela
  • Mother Teresa
  • Albert Einstein
  • Aung San Suu Kyi
  • Leo Tolstoy

A mixed bunch, and in most cases these people are just the visible tip of many different icebergs, sometimes millions of anonymous people without whom they, as standard-bearers, would never even have been known. But at least we do have their words. Of course, I do not agree with all of them — maybe even any of them — in all that they say. But what they do and say is at the very least thought-provoking and significant. And in fact I find that many of them have a lot in common.

Many, for instance, emphasize the need for a spiritual awakening, or even spiritual revolution, and that resonates with me because, although I can see that there are many things in the world that need to be done to solve external problems, there are millions of wonderful people working on those. But who is working on improvement of the human spirit?

So anyway, although kyudo and Buddhist practice continue as ever, I’m also looking at that question, and thought I’d post some quotes as I find them. In truth I’ve highlighted and/or copied out more than enough to last years. But it’s a way of giving.

This entry was posted in quote. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

