Kyudo Notebook: Mantra

So yesterday we had our monthly mini-taikai, maybe 40 people. Since we’d be shooting without much in the way of breaks, I decided to use my older bow. I did pretty well, tied with my teacher for 1st, and we’ll have the final tomorrow. But the thing I wanted to note was that, although I was nervous pretty much the whole time, as sometimes happens in competition, this time I didn’t let being nervous bother me. It was as if there was me, focused on shooting, and then this other nervous person who I was aware of but not really paying much attention to. This is familiar from meditation, but it’s a little different in the midst of a complex set of actions, people watching and talking, etc. So it was good practice. To stay focused I mentally recited Shakyamuni’s mantra, not remembering until later that it’s meaning relates to control of the mind and delusions. Fitting.

This entry was posted in kyudo, kyudo notebook, mind. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kyudo Notebook: Mantra

  1. Zen says:

    Excellent! Akimaste Omedetou!

Leave a Reply

