Kyudo Notebook: Patience

So things went pretty well at practice today. The tiny little change in the angle of the right hand at torikake rippled through and created noticeable differences throughout. Sometimes it felt a little odd but other times rock-solid stable. Kind of amazing what a small change can do, but because of the inertia I mentioned before I think this needs to bake for 2-3 weeks before I can feel confident about it. This kind of thing has happened too many times before.

But the social weirdness at the dojo continued. It’s not that the people are entirely wrong with their criticism, but just that they’re so aggressive about it, like they’re personally offended. It’s the strangest thing. At one point after someone kept pushing and pushing, and not taking the verbal hints, I just got up and left without a word. I’m hoping that was enough of a message, but while away I decided to borrow some advice from Shantideva’s Guide to the Bodhisattva’s Way of Life and treat the whole thing as a lesson in patience and concentration… not let it bother me… because most assuredly there are, and will be, such situations in life, and I need to keep my balance despite them. So it’s all part of the training, and my aggressive friends are giving me the opportunity to practice. Thanks.

Meanwhile, this weekend there’s a taikai and tutorial for renshi and kyoushi. It’s one of my favourites to watch because people shoot by rank, and within each rank, ordered by seniority, so you can really see the differences in level and experience. Then I’m off to the steaming cauldron of Tokyo for a few days.

Note to self: Avoid food with MSG before practice. It makes you jittery.

This entry was posted in kyudo, kyudo notebook, mind, yugamae. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kyudo Notebook: Patience

  1. Avoid food with MSG, anyway, Sempai _/|\_

  2. karamatsu says:

    Ha! Yes, you’re right. The trouble is it’s in almost everything. When I started reading labels at the grocery store, to find something that didn’t have it to take for lunch to a taikai, it became quite a challenge. Raw foods and make your own seems like the only safe course for anything that isn’t dairy or supposed to be sweet.
    What really did me in that day were two o-nigiri from a convenience store. I was told later that they’re like little MSG bombs. Live and learn.

Leave a Reply

