Nagoya Seminar 2015

Information is filtering out about the 2015 Asia-Oceania Seminar in Nagoya. No official notice yet on the IKYF (what does the Y stand for?) web site, but news travels fast in the Internet age. People interested in going should keep an eye on their site and also check with your local Kyudo association (renmei) for details.

A couple of things of note from last time: everyone should probably take some time to practice reciting the Raiki Shagi and Shaho Kun out loud in Japanese. There’s no telling who may be asked to do that. People at 4-dan or above should also be ready to act as kaizoe in the opening yawatashi. Bring the book, and your setta. You won’t know until you pick up the registration packet (so if possible do that as soon as you get there!).

The big worry coming from outside Japan (aside from reservations, etc) seems to be bringing bows. Depending on the size of the plane (and so, the cargo containers), on domestic routes Japanese airlines typically have no troubles with bows (no charge, either on JAL or ANA, though I’ve heard about extra costs on discount airlines like Peach), but I’m not sure about international flights. I’ve heard all kinds of crazy stories about other airlines, though. Check ahead with different airlines and see what kind of a deal you can get. Maybe we can do some Internet democracy here and record the policies of different airlines? Which airline did you check? From which country? Did they have a problem carrying bows? Any extra charge? Maybe some favourite yumi-friendly airlines will emerge…

Otherwise I’ll see people there! If we don’t die first.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Nagoya Seminar 2015

  1. Johan says:

    I’m planning on going to the Nagoya-seminar, thanks for the heads up. I should probably start looking for more information.

    Regarding the transportation of yumi. Last time I was in Japan I bought a new yumi and they did a great job in the store with securing the package. Altough it became rather cumbersome. I don’t know if that had anything to do with it, but I had to pay extra when checking in with JAL. I don’t remember exactly the amount, but it was around 10 000 – 15 000 yen which I thought was rather expensive. I was flying with JAL from Tokyo (Narita) to Helsinki and then by Finnair to Sweden (Stockholm). I did not have to pay extra to Finnair since they have some sort of cooperation with JAL. Maybe they split the extra money, I don’t know. Anyway, just wanted to share my earlier experience.

    • karamatsu says:

      That’s unfortunate news… I’d hoped that JAL’s treatment of yumi would be the same whether domestic or international. Maybe we should start a campaign…

  2. a regular reader-san says:

    First of – on the risk of answering a hypothetical question: My suspicion is that the Y has been interjected to make a distinction between IKF (International Karate Federation) and the International KYudo Federation….
    Secondly: yes, most if not all non-Japanese international airlines (such as KLM, Finnair, etc.) do charge for transportation of yumi, I am not too sure about JAL though, all of the flights advertised by JAL are operated by Euroean airlines so their rules may apply (and not the yumi friendly rules of JAL).
    Eventhough they (the European airlines) don’t charge for other bulky or heavy sports equipment such as golf-equipment or skis. I haven’t found any logic behind this other than the fact that yumi aren’t transported that often over the world, or at least not as often as the other sports equipments. There doesn’t seem to be too much difference between the Eurpean airlines (I’m from Europe, if that isn’t clear by now).

    I hope this gives you some information.

    • karamatsu says:

      Yes, as a matter of fact I was told by one participant in Nagoya that her airline (I forget which one) had a special exception for fishing poles. Those you could take for free! So what she did was put her yumi inside a fishing pole case, with some nice fish stickers on the outside, and let the airline people draw their own conclusions. From the sound of it, she didn’t have to pay anything. And anyway who’s to say that this funny-shaped bamboo or fiberglass pole isn’t a fishing pole? You certainly could use it as one.

  3. Juandiego says:

    I will do my best no to die before attending again! And also, memorize the Raiki Shagi and Shaho Kun properly.

    I guess the Y in IKYF just serves to diferenciate it from the Int Kendo Fed, or Int Karate Fed, or Int Kempo Fed, or Int Kickboxing Fed, or Int Kart Fed, or the Int Korfball Fed!

Leave a Reply

